• Copy of Untitled - 1_1
  • Copy of Untitled - 2_1
  • Copy of Untitled - 3

Black & Black | David Murray Quartet | Pre Loved CD

RM 40.00
- +
icon-bag Add to Cart

Black & Black is an album by the American musician David Murray, released in 1991. It features performances by Murray, Marcus Belgrave, Kirk Lightsey, Santi Debriano and Roy Haynes.The album was produced by Bob Thiele.

Release Date: October 7, 1991

Duration: 55.50

Genre: Jazz

Style, Avant-Garde, Free Jazz, Jazz Instrumental, Saxaphone Jazz


  • David Murray - tenor saxophone
  • Marcus Belgrave - trumpet
  • Kirk Lightsey - piano
  • Santi Debriano - bass
  • Roy Haynes - drums

Track Listing

  1. "Anti-Calypso" (Prince) - 10:08
  2. "Duke's Place" (Ellington, Thiele, Roberts, Bill Katz) - 11:05
  3. "Cool" (Osser, Thiele) - 11:21
  4. "Black and Black" (Osser, Thiele) - 10:48
  5. "Head Out" (Murray) - 12:44

Black and Black Review by Scott Yanow

In general, tenor saxophonist David Murray's Red Baron recordings are not on the same level of his Black Saints albums; the settings tended to be more conservative and the material not as strong. This outing with pianist Kirk Lightsey, bassist Santi Debriano, drummer Roy Haynes and trumpeter Marcus Belgrave is better than most of his Red Baron releases. The material is fairly basic (including "Duke's Place" and the two-note "C Jam Blues" theme, which is listed as being composed by four people), Murray tends to play fairly freely despite the boppish rhythm section, and the closing "Head Out" (the longest of the five lengthy jams) has plenty of fiery intensity. Not essential but worth picking up by David Murray fans.

All Music Review-


Your cart is currently empty.
Continue shopping